top of page

3 Steps to Help


Concerned About Your Child's Development?

Each child grows and gains skills at his or her own pace while moving through a natural, predictable sequence from one developmental milestone to the next. Developmental milestones are often categorized into five major areas: physical growth, cognitive development, emotional and social development, language development, and sensory and motor development. Within each area children exhibit key behaviours which provide evidence to the pace of their development.


The following chart outlines a few of these key developmental milestones.

Developmental Milestones

​The Government of British Columbia provides publicly funded services for children and youth who may require extra support.

Contact your local Child Development Center for a consultation - a doctor's referral or formal assessment is not required.

bottom of page